“Flower of All-Star Game” MLB, Home Run Derby match confirmed…Alonso’s third attempt at winning

The list of home run derby matches in the 2023 Major League Baseball (MLB) All-Star Game has been confirmed.

MLB Dotcom released the All-Star Game Home Run Derby match list on the 6th (Korea Standard Time). Louis Robert Jr. (Chicago White Sox), Pete Alonso (New York Mets), Mookie Betts (Los Angeles Dodgers), Adolis Garcia (Texas Rangers), Randy Arozarena (Tampa Bay Rays), Vladimir Guerrero Jr. (Toronto Blue Jays), Julio Rodriguez (Seattle Mariners), and Orioles (Baltimore) are participating in the tournament.

The seed of the home run derby match 메이저사이트 list was determined by the number of home runs each player has made in the season. In the case of a tie, players who hit more home runs since June 16 have been assigned to high seeds. Robert Jr., who had 25 home runs, took the first seed, and Alonso, who had a tie, was assigned to the second seed after the 16th, losing the number of home runs (three and nine Robert Jr.). It was followed by No. 3 Betts (23 home runs), No. 4 Garcia (21 home runs), No. 5 Arozarena (16 home runs), No. 6 Guerrero Jr. (13 home runs), No. 7 Rodriguez (13 home runs), and No. 8 Rutchman (11 home runs).

There are several interesting points to watch in this home run derby. First seeded Robert Jr. will challenge for the White Sox for the first time in 28 years since legendary slugger Frank Thomas, who won the championship in 1995. No. 8 seed Rutchman is the 10th catcher position contestant of all time, and if he wins, he will be the catcher’s first home run derby winner.

Alonso, who received the second seed, is a superstar of the home run derby who won two consecutive tournaments (unhosted by COVID-19 in 2020) in 2019 and 2021. Coincidentally, it was Rodriguez who blocked Alonso’s first three-game losing streak in the history of the home run derby last year. Alonso hit 23 home runs in the second round, but was eliminated by Rodriguez (31) by eight. Rodriguez, who beat Alonso to reach the final, unfortunately finished second behind Juan Soto. If Alonso wins this tournament, he will be the second person to win three home run derby titles after Ken Griffey Jr. (1994, two consecutive losses in 1998-99).

Third seed Mookie Betts was selected as the seventh All-Star, but this is his first time participating in the home run derby. Betts will try to win the Dodgers’ first home run derby. However, the opponent is not easy. Guerrero Jr. participated in the home run derby when he was a rookie in 2019, setting the record for the most home runs in a single tournament with a total of 91 home runs, including 29 in the first round, 40 in the second round, and 22 in the final. If Guerrero Jr. wins the home run derby, he will set the record for the first rich win in the home run derby with his father Vladimir Guerrero.

The match between Garcia and Arozarena draws attention as a matchup from Cuba. Yoenis Cespedes (two consecutive losses in 2013-14) was the only Cuban winner of the all-time home run derby. If one of the two players wins, he will be the second Cuban winner ever.

Meanwhile, the MLB All-Star Game, which marks its 93rd anniversary this year, will be held at T-Mobile Park, the home stadium of the Seattle Mariners, on the 12th. The home run derby will be held on the 11th when the eve is held.

Leave A Comment

Recommended Posts