The aftermath of the Qatar World Cup… Punishment fell on Uruguay

Suspensions have been imposed on Uruguay players who overly protested the referee’s decision at the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

The International Football Federation (FIFA) announced on the 28th that Uruguay’s Diego Godin (Vélez Sarsfield), Edinson Cavani (Valencia), and Jose It was announced that four players, including Jimenez (Atletico Madrid) and Fernando Muslera (Galatasaray), had been disciplined.

At the time, Uruguay players poured out fierce dissatisfaction after surrounding the referee. Cavani also left by pushing the monitor used for video reading.

It is because of dissatisfaction that a penalty kick (PK) was not awarded in the scene where Cavani was pushed and fell by Alido Seydoux in the Ghanaian penalty area just before the end. Had this PK been declared, Uruguay could have advanced to the round of 16.

In the end, FIFA imposed a fine of 15,000 Swiss francs (approximately 20 million won) on Cavani and Godin, suspended for one game in each A match, and community service.

Jimenez and Muslera were suspended for four more games and fined 20,000 Swiss francs (27 million won). 스포츠토토

The Uruguay Football Association also failed to avoid punishment. For failing to stop the supporter’s discriminatory behavior and the player’s sudden behavior, a one-game unattended disciplinary action and a fine of 50,000 Swiss francs (approximately 67 million won) were imposed.

Uruguay won 2-0 against Ghana, but failed to advance to the round of 16 by a narrow margin. South Korea, who took the last train in second place, and Uruguay, in third place, had the same number of points (4 points) and goal difference (0). However, the joy was divided as Korea took a two-goal lead over Uruguay.

However, Uruguay also has disadvantages. This is because a real misjudgment came out in the second round of the group stage against Portugal, not against Ghana.

Sukidin bin Mod Saleh, a FIFA referee instructor, shared a case of misjudgment at the Qatar World Cup at the 2022 Korea Football Association referee conference held in Korea on the 21st of last month, where Uruguay’s damage case was introduced. This is the scene where defender Jimenez was handballed at the last minute as Uruguay was drawn 0-1 by Portugal. Jimenez lost his balance and fell while blocking Portuguese midfielder Bruno Fernands in the penalty area, during which he touched the ball while touching the ground with his left hand.

After communicating with the VAR referee, the referee of the match declared a penalty kick along with Jimenez’s handball foul. Fernands scored a direct penalty kick in the 48th minute of the second half, deciding a 2-0 victory. According to Instructor Sukidin, the VAR referee conveyed his opinion to the referee, saying, “Jiménez’s arm was still not supporting the ground, so handball was correct”, and the referee accepted it.

Instructor Sukidin argued about this, saying, “If the ball hits in a situation where he goes down for support even before his hand completely touches the ground, it is not handball.” He said, “If the referee misinterprets (regulations), there will be a problem. In this scene, the judges should have judged more accurately.”

Uruguay coach Diego Alonso also raised his voice, saying, “The penalty kick against Portugal led to this result,” and “the penalty kick against Portugal was not a penalty kick situation.”

Leave A Comment

Recommended Posts